Vero Beach: 772.494.6161
Melbourne: 321.805.3848

Board of Directors

  • BillStengel_RGB

    Bill Stengel

    VNA of the Treasure Coast Board; VNA of Indian River County Board

    Bill Stengel had a 30-year career in international banking with Citibank, N.A before retiring in 2003 as its managing director. During his time there, Bill had the opportunity to live abroad on multiple occasions including Australia and Japan. After he retired from banking, Stengel worked as a paramedic in Freeport, Maine for 12 years as well as an ED technician for the Mid-Coast Hospital emergency department in Brunswick, Maine.

    Bill has also served on several boards including Holly Energy Partners LP, Green Mountain Digital, Lifelight of Maine, the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship and Middlesex School. He graduated from Princeton University with a bachelor’s degree in biology and received his MBA in Finance from Columbia University. Living in the northeast for much of his life, Stengel moved to Vero Beach as a permanent Floridian in 2015 with his wife, Lorna. Together they have three children and eight grandchildren.

    VNA of the Treasure Coast Board Members:

    Jack Weisbaum,  Treasurer
    Kimberle Beckett, Secretary
    Angelia Perry, Assistant Secretary
    Kathie Pierce, Immediate Past Chair
    Ann Marie McCrystal, Founder
    David Becker, MD
    Robin Blanton
    Deborah Crum
    Hon. Cynthia Cox
    Ford Fegert
    Elaine Hameister
    Kathy Hendrix
    Carol Kanarek
    Susan Marzano
    Don Nickelson
    Fran Pieck
    Sue Tompkins

    VNA of Indian River County Board Members:

    Bill Stengel, Chair
    Jack Weisbaum, Treasurer
    Kimberle Beckett, Secretary
    Angelia Perry, Assistant Secretary

  • Nickelson (2)

    Don Nickelson

    VNA Hospice of Indian River County Board

    Donald Nickelson has a robust career in the financial industry. Having worked for investment firm, Paine Webber, for nearly 25 years, Don has served as president of the consumer markets of the company and was named president of the financial firm where he led the company until 1990.

    Don has served as chairman and director for numerous company boards including serving as director and board of advisors for Harbour Group Industries, Inc. He has served as chairman of the board for Flair Corp., Greenfield Industries, Omniquip International, Inc. and Vie Financial Group, Inc. In addition, Don has served as chairman for the Harris County Texas March of Dimes, trustee of the Institute of Civil Justice and on the advisory board for Stanford Institute for the Quantitative Study of Society.

    Don joined the VNA of the Treasure Coast board in 2016.

    VNA Hospice of Indian River County Board Members:

    Susan Marzao, Vice Chair
    Barbara Pearce, Treasurer/Secretary
    David Becker, MD
    Elaine Hameister
    Mike McGee
    Marta Schneider

  • Russell (2)

    Gilbert Russell

    VNA Space Coast Board

    Gilbert Russell is the Vice President of Small Business and Commercial Banking for Seacoast Bank and is focused on providing financial solutions for businesses and individuals. Gilbert has been with Seacoast Bank for over four years, and prior to that, he served as the area president for BankFIRST. He has been a member of VNA Space Coast’s board of directors for the last two years and has previously held board positions for the Economic Development Commission of Florida’s Space Coast and Melbourne Regional Chamber of East Central Florida. Gilbert received his MBA from Seattle University and bachelor’s degrees in management and English from University of South Florida.

    VNA Space Coast Board Members:

    Richard Johnson, Vice Chair
    Ford Fegert, Secretary/Treasurer
    Ann Marie McCrystal

  • Kathie Pierce

    Kathie Pierce

    VNA & Hospice Foundation Board

    Kathie has been practicing service and sharing from a very early age. As a candy striper she learned about healing. Today, as a volunteer fundraiser for the VNA, she makes healing possible. Kathie was instrumental in acquiring a transformational gift that helped to start the VNA Hospice House Endowment Fund soon after the house was built in 2000. Since 2003, Kathie has served on the VNA & Hospice Foundation Board of Directors and has served as many leadership roles including chairman of the Annual Appeal, Memorial Paver and Donor Relations committees as well as serving as vice chairman of the board.

    VNA & Hospice Foundation Board Members:

    Emily Sherwood, Vice Chair
    Sarah Connors, Vice Chair
    Jeffrey J. Phillips, Treasurer
    Kathleen LaCroix, Assistant Treasurer
    Carole Finck, Secretary
    Stacy L. Kenyon, Assistant Secretary
    Carol Kanarek, Immediate Past Chair
    Ann Marie McCrystal, Founder
    Kathryn Barton
    William N. Hudson, Jr.
    Michael McGee
    Marta Schneider
    William P. Stengel
    Bill Stewart